Images
- WorldImages
Contains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
- Google Images
Searches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections
- American Memory
From the Library of Congress, including many photographs and other visual elements documenting American history.
- LIFE Photo Archive
Growing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
- NYPL Digital Gallery
Thousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
- Flickr Commons
A free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- VADS
Thousands of visual arts images, including fashion, design, prints, and sculpture.
- Oxford Art Online
Links images to related entries, covering major artists, periods, and styles.
- Still Images: Finding and Using Digital Media
U.K. site with advice on finding images online, getting permissions, and other tips.
- World Digital Library
Includes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
- Getty Images
Includes stock photography, editorial photos, and some moving images.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Online collection documenting works of art from world museums, including photographs, paintings, architecture, costume, and more.
Useful Call Numbers
Men
Gender Studies: HQ1088-1090.7
In Education: LC1390
Women and Feminism
In Historical Biography: CT3200-9999
Gender Studies: HQ1101-2030.7
In Social Services: HV1442-1448
In Education: LC1401-2572
Sex Roles
In Gender Studies: HQ1075-1075.5
In Education: LC212.9-212.93
Core Databases
- Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database that indexes journals from a wide range of subject areas, including literature, history, ethnic studies, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and medical sciences. Includes many fulltext articles.
- Contemporary Women's IssuesIndex to journal articles, newsletters and research reports from non-profit groups and government agencies about women in over 150 countries. It includes information from sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights.
- Project MUSECollection of close to 250 full-text journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
- JSTORProvides access to articles published more than 2 years ago in over 100 scholarly journals.
- Databases by SubjectSearch for gender topics in general databases for history, sociology, political science, and more to find scholarly articles.
Core Reference
Chronology of Women's History
Reference Collection: HQ112 .O47 1994
The Dictionary of Feminist Theory
Reference Collection: HQ1115 .H86 1995
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Online encyclopedia
Handbook of Gender Research in Psychology: volume 1 and volume 2
Online encyclopedia
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Online encyclopedia
Reconstructing Gender: A Multicultural Anthology
Reference Collection: HQ1075 .R43 2009
Women's Rights in the United States: A Documentary History
Reference Collection: HQ1236.5 .U6 .W68 1994
Core Journals
Useful Websites
Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies
Political Advocacy Groups: Directory of U.S. Interest Groups
Either refer to the list of all subjects
covered by this source, or see specifically the page for Men and Women.
Research Guides by Pullman Librarians
See guides to research resources for Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies.
Washington Women's History Consortium
This site provides a central site for accessing the special collections in Washington state, providing primary documents in women's history.
Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Site
A selective annotated list of websites containing resources and information about women's studies.
WSSLINKS Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Provides access to a wide range of resources in support of women's studies research.
Your Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk
Have a question? Contact the Reference Desk for help.
Contact Info:
360-546-9686
library@vancouver.wsu.edu
Send Email
chat with a librarian (Note: opens a new window.)
Useful Search Terms
Effective searches use the best keywords and subject headings for the topic at hand. Below are some recommendations for women's studies.
Gender (generally)
Gender Studies
Equality
Gender Mainstreaming
Gender Identity
Sex role in [art, literature, music, education...]
Sexism
Sex in [advertising, mass media...]
Sex discrimination
Related to Women
Femininity
Feminine
Women's Rights
Feminist Movement
Feminist Theory
Political Lesbianism
Feminism
Women's Health
Post feminism
Women's Studies
Suffrage
Women
Teenage Girls
Women in [mass media, development...]


Loading...
