Images
- WorldImages
Contains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
- Google Images
Searches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections
- American Memory
From the Library of Congress, including many photographs and other visual elements documenting American history.
- LIFE Photo Archive
Growing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
- NYPL Digital Gallery
Thousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
- Flickr Commons
A free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- VADS
Thousands of visual arts images, including fashion, design, prints, and sculpture.
- Oxford Art Online
Links images to related entries, covering major artists, periods, and styles.
- Still Images: Finding and Using Digital Media
U.K. site with advice on finding images online, getting permissions, and other tips.
- World Digital Library
Includes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
- Getty Images
Includes stock photography, editorial photos, and some moving images.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Online collection documenting works of art from world museums, including photographs, paintings, architecture, costume, and more.
Useful Call Numbers
Human Sexuality
In Anthropology - GN 484.3
In Family, Marriage, & Women - HQ 12-1080
In General Arts - NX 180, PR 460-880
In Medicine - RC 554-569.5
Useful Search Terms
Effective Griffin searches use the best keywords and subject headings for the topic at hand. For topics related to sexuality, it may be necessary to think about how the LGBT population has been described over time to come up with a complete list of effective search terms. Below are some recommendations.
Homosexual, Homosexuality
Gay
Gay men, Gay rights, Gay youth, etc.
Gay liberation
Gay and lesbian studies
Gender identity
Lesbian
Bisexual, Bisexuality
Heterosexual
Transsexual
Asexual
Pansexual
Queer
Queer theory
Sexual minorities
Sexual orientation
Same-sex marriage
Diversity Research Guides
Core Databases
- Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database that indexes journals from a wide range of subject areas, including literature, history, ethnic studies, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and medical sciences. Includes many fulltext articles.
- JSTORProvides access to articles published more than 2 years ago in over 100 scholarly journals.
- Project MUSECollection of close to 250 full-text journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
- Contemporary Women's IssuesIndex to journal articles, newsletters and research reports from non-profit groups and government agencies about women in over 150 countries. It includes information from sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights.
- Alternative Press Index OnlineIndex to articles from nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
- Left IndexThe Left Index is a guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship. Include citations to popular press articles and scholarly journals.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes articles on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- America: History & LifeIndex to articles on all topics of history in the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes all key English-language historical journals as well as selected state, local, and international historical journals.
Core Reference
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
Reference Collection: HQ76.25 .E53 1990
Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage: A Reader's Companion to the Writers and Their Works
Reference Collection: PN56 .H57 G365 1995
Gay and Lesbian Rights: A Reference Handbook
Online and in Reference Collection: HQ76.3 .U5 N48 2009
LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
Reference Collection: HQ76.3 .U5 L495 2004
Sexuality Education: Past, Present, and Future
Reference Collection: HQ56 .S38634 2009
Core Journals
Human Sexuality Journals
Archives of Sexual Behavior
Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality
Culture, Health, And Sexuality
Journal of the History of Sexuality
The Journal of Sex Research
Queer Studies Journals
The Advocate
GLQ: a Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Journal of Homosexuality
Journal of Lesbian Studies
Useful Websites
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies
Research sources from UC Berkeley
Northwest Lesbian and Gay History Museum Project
Offers oral histories on LGBT topics from the pacific northwest.
Political Advocacy Groups: Directory of U.S. Interest Groups
Either refer to the list of all subjects
covered by this source, or see specifically the pages for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender.
Research Guides by Pullman Librarians
See guides to research resources for Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies.
GLBT links from Indiana University
Links to advocacy groups and scholarship/grant opportunities.
Your Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk
Have a question? Contact the Reference Desk for help.
Contact Info:
360-546-9686
library@vancouver.wsu.edu
Send Email
chat with a librarian (Note: opens a new window.)
Library Materials
New Library Materials
New WSU Vancouver materials about Homosexuality
New WSU Vancouver items on Sexual Orientation
New WSU Vancouver items on LGBT
Videos in the Library
Click the link to get a list of videos in the library.
WSU Vancouver Videos about Homosexuality


Loading...
