This is the "Home" page of the "POLS 340: Project Real World (Fall 2011)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POLS 340: Project Real World (Fall 2011)   Tags: classes, political science, public policy, research  

Last Updated: Sep 27, 2011 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/pols340 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Professional Associations

  • Encyclopedia of Associations
    This is a book in the library reference stacks. Call number: AS8 E5 2010.
    Look up a profession to find related associations in vol. 1, sections 3 or 5.
  • USA.gov
    Find state and local agencies through this government gateway, created by the US Federal government.
  • Nonprofit Network of SW Washington
  • NonProfitList.org
  • Google
    Search Google to find nonprofits by limiting your search to site:.org (example: police association site:.org) This will find your search terms on nonprofit websites only. Most associations have a nonprofit status.

Career Information for Public Professionals

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    This annual publication summarizes the education, training, certification, and employment outlook of hundreds of professions. This is a critical tool for your assignment.

Other Tools

Professions in Policy Development

Scholarly articles and books are ideal sources of information to learn:

  • a broad understanding of a profession and its activities
  • policy engagement by a profession historically
  • documented impact of professional groups in politics and policy

News articles will reference the day to day activities of specific professional groups and individuals, typically offering quotes from officials regarding specific policies. News is best for local information.

A professional association may produce reports or statements that indicate their association's view on specific policies. Some professionals may act locally within their office and nationally within an association. Consider both.

Consider what information you need. When you know what, you know where to look. Use the list of tools below to find your information.

      

    Magazine and Journal Articles

    • PAIS
      (+ 20 other ProQuest databases) Search for articles, government documents, book chapters and more related to US public policy.
    • Academic Search Complete  
        
      This database lists and links to articles in many topics, including public policies in a variety of areas like crime, education, and natural resources.
    • Governing.com
      This source discusses policies at the state and local level. Articles are written from the perspective of professionals interested in policy development across the US in their areas of expertise.
    • JSTOR
      Provides access to articles published more than 2 years ago in over 100 scholarly journals.
    • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
      Index of scholarly articles in political science
     

    Books

    WorldCat Local

    Use WorldCat Local to find books, journals, and some articles available in WSU. You will also find books that can be requested from libraries around the Pacific Northwest (Summit). Results will be listed in order of local availability like this: WSU Vancouver first, then WSU all, Summit, and WorldCat Libraries.

    Newspapers and Other News Sources

    • Lexis-Nexis Academic
      "Search the News" to find full text newspaper and magazine articles from local papers around the country. Use the drop down menu to change your search to TV transcripts or blogs.
    • New York Times
      Current articles from the New York Times website.
    • Washington Post
      Current articles from Washington, DC's Washington Post newspaper.
    • The Columbian
      Current issues from Vancouver, Washington's local newspaper.
    • The Oregonian
      Current issues from Portland, Oregon's local newspaper.

    Your Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Kathi Fountain
    Contact Info
    Head of Collection Development
    Phone: 360-546-9694
    Send Email
     

    Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

    Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip