Helpful Research Tips
Tips for Locating Research Materials
- Last Updated Dec 28, 2010
Suggestions for finding research materials.
- Last Updated Dec 28, 2010
Suggestions for finding research materials.
Off Campus Access to Library Resources
- Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Information on off campus access.
- Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Information on off campus access.
Citation Management with Zotero
- Last Updated Dec 1, 2010
Zotero is a plugin for Firefox that organizes and manages citations. You can use it to collect citation information as you do your research and then to create bibliographies and sources cited lists and plug them in to your writing.
- Last Updated Dec 1, 2010
Zotero is a plugin for Firefox that organizes and manages citations. You can use it to collect citation information as you do your research and then to create bibliographies and sources cited lists and plug them in to your writing.
Comments (0)
Journal Databases
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsIndex of materials related to political science, including history and theory, comparative, international, political psychology, law, and public administration and policy.
- PAISIndex to books, articles, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters and statistical directories about public affairs. Coverage starts in 1972.
- Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)Multidisciplinary database that covers over 1700 journals in a wide range of disciplines, including anthropology, history, psychology, political science, public health and sociology.
- Criminal Justice AbstractsIndex to articles and publications in the field of criminal justice including law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Includes some full text.
- CIAO Columbia International Affairs OnlineFull text articles from journals, working papers, policy briefs, and books. Maps available for all regions around the world. Coverage is best for addressing a full range of international affairs and international relations topics.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes articles on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Data Sources
- ICPSRIndex and fulltext access to over 5000 research datasets for the social sciences. Includes data on the Census, crime, aging, health care, politics, etc. (Access to these datasets is only available to WSU faculty, staff and students.)
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesCollection of statistics covering the history of the United States from the 18th century through the end of the 20th century.
- Vital Statistics on American PoliticsProvides data on politics, elections, government, and policy. Held on WSU Vancouver Reference: JK274 S74 2009/2010
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis annual volume provides cross-tabulated data for practically every topic. Find crime, environmental, political, agricultural, and banking statistics, for example. A print copy is held in the WSU Vancouver Reference collection: HA202 S83x 2020.
Primary News Sources
- Academic Lexis-NexisProvides access to newspapers, magazines and trade journals in the areas of law, business, current events and medicine. Also covers state and federal laws, statutes, regulations and case law, including historical cases dating back to the 1880s.
- New York Times (1851-2003)Fulltext collection of historic newspapers, including the New York Times (1851-2003) and the Chicago Defender (1905-1975). Fulltext includes articles, illustrations and advertisements.
- The Times of London (1785-1985)Two hundred years of full text articles from one of London's leading papers.
Your Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Government Documents
- Congressional Lexis-NexisProvides access to records related to the U.S. Congress, including hearings, bill texts, legislative histories, voting records and more.
- American State PapersCollection of U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetFulltext collection of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the 15th through the 36th Congress, sessions.
- AccessUNIndex of United Nations documents, records, reports and resolutions. Includes some fulltext documents.


Loading...
