This is the "Home" page of the "Getting Started with Library Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Getting Started with Library Research   Tags: getting_started, tips  

Here are some tips to help you get started with the library research process.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/getting-started Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference resources for background, vocabulary, and context

The Reference Collection and the reference librarians in the library are one of the best places to start a research project. The librarians will help you maximize your time and the reference collection can help you find information quickly.

The online Oxford Reference Collection gives you access to over 100 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries that are useful for figuring out your research topic. With them you can move from a broad topic to a more focused topic, learn specialized vocabulary and background information.

The online Gale Virtual Reference Library gives you access to over 50 encyclopedias and handbooks on subjects ranging from ancient Europe, to business plans, to the weather almanac.

 

Resources on specific topics: great for starting your research

CQ Researcher is a unique kind of reference source that gives you background on controversial issues and explains the points-of-view of opposing sides.

Contemporary World Issues is an online book series you can find in SearchIt. The topics covered in CWI are in-depth overviews, which cite great scholarly sources. They also have good glossaries and excellent indexes for finding things fast.

Opposing Viewpoints is another online books series. It provides essays that offer a point and counterpoint on specific issues. Use SearchIt to find these books.

 

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk
Have a question?  Contact the Reference Desk for help.

Contact Info:
360-546-9686
library@vancouver.wsu.edu
Send Email

 

Chat with a Librarian

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip