Useful Call Numbers
Ethnic Groups and Races
In History: E184
In Anthropology: GN537-GN674
In Labor: HD6050-HD6305
In Sociology: HT1501-HT1595
In Social Services: HV3176-HV3199
African Americans
In History: E 184.5-E185.98
In Education: LC2699-LC2913
Asian Americans
In History: E184
In Education: LC2630-LC2638
Immigrant Populations
In History: E184
In Social Services: HV4005-HV4013
In Education: LC3701-LC3747
Latinos
In History: E184
In Education: LC2667-LC2698
Native Americans
In History: E75-E99
Useful Search Terms
Effective Griffin searches use the best keywords and subject headings for the topic at hand. For topics related to race and ethnicity, it may be necessary to think about how a population has been described over time to come up with a complete list of effective search terms. Below are some recommendations.
Ethnic Groups and Races (Generally)
- Minorities
- Race
- Ethnicity
- Racial
- Ethnic Groups
- Ethnic Relations
African Americans
- African Americans
- Blacks
- Afro Americans
Asian Americans
- Asian Americans
- Chinese Americans (or other specific nationalities)
- Oriental or Orientals
- [country] and immigration (example: Japanese and immigration)
Immigrant Populations
- Immigrants
- Emigration or Immigration
- Illegal aliens
- Undocumented aliens
Latinos
- Latinos
- Hispanics
- Hispanic Americans
- Chicanos
- Mexican Americans (or other specific nationality)
- [nationality] and immigration (example: Guatemalans and immigration)
Native Americans
- Indians of North America
- Native Americans
- Cowlitz Indians (or other specific tribes)
- American Indians
Diversity Research Guides
Core Databases
- African American ExperienceFulltext collection of materials covering African American history and culture. Topics covered include music, folklore, biography, education, politics and civil rights. The collection includes primary sources and encyclopedias.
- American Indian ExperienceFulltext collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. The collection includes primary sources and encyclopedias and cover Pre-contact to the present day.
- Ethnic NewsWatchFull text collection of journals, magazines and newspapers from ethnic, minority and native presses.
- Latino American ExperienceA full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Includes primary documents, images, Spanish-language content, a timeline, and Web sites.
- America: History & LifeIndexes articles on all topics of history in the United States and Canada. Serves as a useful tool to find research related to ethnicity and race in US and Canadian history.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes articles on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Serves as a useful tool to find research related to ethnicity and race in sociological literature.
Core Reference
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
Reference Collection: E184 .A1 A63448 1997
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
Reference Collection: GN495.6 .C37 2004
Encyclopedia of
Immigration and Migration in the American West
Online encyclopedia
Handbook of North American Indians
Reference Collection: E77 .H25 (multiple volumes)
Historical Statistics of the United
States
Online and in Reference Collection: HA202 .H57 2006
Core Journals
Immigration Studies Journals
Immigrants
and Minorities
International
Migration
International
Migration Review
Journal
of Ethnic and Migration Studies
Journal
of Immigrant and Minority Health
African American Studies Journals
Black
Music Research Journal
Harvard
Journal of African American Public Policy
Journal
of African American History
Journal
of African American Studies
Journal
of Black Studies
Journal
of Negro Education
Asian American Studies Journals
Asian
American Policy Review
Hmong
Studies Journal
Journal
of Asian American Studies
Latino Studies Journals
Journal of
Hispanic Higher Education
Hispanic Journal
of Behavioral Sciences
Latino Studies
Native American Studies Journals
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
American Indian Quarterly
Ethnohistory
Useful Websites
African American Resources
(Howard University)
Links to a variety of information sources in all disciplines.
American Indians in the Pacific
Northwest
Contains primary sources from the Library of Congress documenting the
history of Pacific Northwest tribes. See also a related project from the
University
of Washington.
Braceros in Oregon
Contains a collection of photographs from Oregon State University's
archives documenting the labor of Mexican men in Oregon agricultural
fields between 1942 and 1947.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic
History Archive
Digitized primary documents from the region’s historical museums
highlight the history of ethnic groups throughout the Columbia Basin.
Native American Documents Program
This site includes a collection of reports issued from the Board of
Indian Commissioners, allotment data, documents related to the Rogue
River War and Siletz Reservations.
Political Advocacy Groups: Directory of U.S. Interest Groups
Either refer to the list of all subjects
covered by this source, or see specifically the pages for African
Americans, Arab
Americans, Asian
Americans, Immigrants,
Latinos,
Multiethnic
Americans, or Native
Americans.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Research Guides by Pullman Librarians
See guides to research resources for Asian American
Studies, Black Studies,
Chicano
Studies, Comparative
Ethnic Studies, and Native
American Studies.
Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk
Have a question? Contact the Reference Desk for help.
Contact Info:
360-546-9686
library@vancouver.wsu.edu
Send Email
chat with a librarian (Note: opens a new window.)
Library Materials
New Library Materials
New WSU Vancouver materials about U.S. Immigration
New WSU Vancouver items on Latinos
Videos in the Library
WSU Vancouver Videos about
Race or Ethnicity
Click the link to get a list of videos in the library.
WSU Vancouver Videos about African Americans
WSU Vancouver Videos about Latinos
WSU Vancouver Videos about Native Americans
WSU Vancouver Videos about Immigrants
WSU Vancouver Videos about Asian Americans

Loading...
