This is the "Library Resources" page of the "ES/RP 593 (Fall 2011)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ES/RP 593 (Fall 2011)   Tags: classes, environmental_science science, tips  

Suggested resources for biological research.
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/esrp593 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

The Library has many resources to support research in the biological sciences.  Below is an overview of services and resources available to you. All databases and catalogs can be accessed through the Library’s homepage.

If you need any advice on your research, feel free to Nicole Campbell, your subject librarian. You can also contact the Reference Desk for assistance.

Article Databases

There are a variety of databases for the biological sciences available, covering a range of disciplines.  These are available through the Library’s website in an alphabetical list or by subject.  Try out multiple databases, as you will likely find some work better for your research than others.  Note: you will be asked to authenticate with your network ID to use these databases off campus.

Some useful databases:

  • Agricola
    Index to over 3.5 million items covering all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes records of books, serials, audiovisual, and other materials.
  • BIOSIS
    Index to articles from biological and biomedical journals.
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
    Index of environmental sciences literature, including over 6000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources such as conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
  • Faculty of 1000 Biology
    Index of articles selected and reviewed by leading researchers in the biological sciences. Highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit.
  • Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
    Index to the world literature dealing with fish and fish culture and all aspects of ichtyology and fisheries.
  • GeoRef
    Index to nearly 2 million articles, books and government documents about geology and earth sciences. (North American Geology is indexed beginning in 1785.)
  • Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
    Multidisciplinary database that covers over 5700 significant scientific and technical journals.
  • Science Direct
    Index to hundreds of journals from a wide range of subject areas, including science, computer science, medicine, education, business and social science.
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
    Index of literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations and other publications. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, etc.
  • Wiley Interscience Journals
    Access to over 500 scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals.
 

Article Quality Indicators

Web of Science and Faculty of 1000 provide researchers with indications of how important specific journal articles are in the field. 

Web of Science counts the number of times an article has been cited.  Faculty of 1000 allows scholars to evaluate articles.  Selected articles may receive ratings of Recommended, Must Read or Exceptional, and researchers can read the written evaluations of the articles.

 

Database Searching

You can construct your searches to be either broad, narrow or somewhere in between.  Using Boolean operators (and, or, not), you can search more efficiently.

Also, each database has unique searching features.  It is worth familiarizing yourself with these in order to search more effectively.  As an example:  Web of Science includes a Boolean operator called “same” which will only look for your search terms in the same sentence.

 

Finding Books & Other Materials (Catalogs)

Griffin, the WSU library catalog, indexes items owned by WSU Libraries. Summit is a joint catalog of college and university libraries in the Pacific Northwest.

In addition to finding books and other materials, Griffin is also useful for determining if the Library has access to particular journals, either in print or online.  To do this, do a title search for a specific journal, such as PLoS Biology or Oikos

 

Ordering Materials (Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad)

If you need something and cannot find it fulltext, or via Griffin or Summit, we have an Interlibrary Loan department that will request items for you.  You can use ILLiad, our online interlibrary loan system to request books, journal articles, dvds, etc. 

Delivery times:  You will normally receive journal articles in 24-48 hours.  Books can take 4-5 days or longer depending on where they are coming from.  There is no delivery or processing during the weekends so that can lengthen delivery times.

You will receive an email when the item is available.  Also, remember there is no cost to you to order materials.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Nicole Campbell
Contact Info
Interim Library Director
Phone: 360-546-9687
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

 

Off Campus Database Access

To access the library’s databases from off campus, you will be asked to authenticate after you choose a database. You will be prompted to enter your network ID and password. (This is the same user-name and password used in zzusis.)

If you are having difficulty authenticating, try a different database. If the system still does not allow you in, give us a call.

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip