This is the "Home" page of the "English & Literature Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English & Literature Databases   Tags: databases, english, literary_criticism, literature  

These databases are most useful for locating information about English and literature.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2010 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/english-databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Help Guides

Getting Started with Library Research
by Reference Desk, Nicholas Schiller - Last Updated Mar 4, 2011
Here are some tips to help you get started with the library research process.
Off Campus Access to Library Resources
by Nicole Campbell - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Information on off campus access.
Tips for Locating Research Materials
by Reference Desk - Last Updated Dec 28, 2010
Suggestions for finding research materials.

Databases

  • MLA Bibliography
    Index to articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide.
  • JSTOR
    Provides access to articles published more than 2 years ago in over 100 scholarly journals.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Multidisciplinary database that indexes journals from a wide range of subject areas, including literature, history, ethnic studies, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and medical sciences. Includes many fulltext articles.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
    Citation index to leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage includes selected articles from social science and science journals.
  • Humanities International Index
    Index of journals, books and reference works, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage includes archaeology, art, film, folklore, gender, philosophy, and religion and theology.
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Archive of digital facsimile images of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
  • African American Experience
    Fulltext collection of materials covering African American history and culture. Topics covered include music, folklore, biography, education, politics and civil rights. The collection includes primary sources and encyclopedias.
  • American Indian Experience
    Fulltext collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. The collection includes primary sources and encyclopedias and cover Pre-contact to the present day.
  • Latino American Experience
    A full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Includes primary documents, images, Spanish-language content, a timeline, and Web sites.
  • America: History & Life
    Index to articles on all topics of history in the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes all key English-language historical journals as well as selected state, local, and international historical journals.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Index to articles on all topics of history from the Middle Ages to the present, excluding the Americas, which are covered in America: History and Life.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The dictionary of record. In addition to definitions, it also includes the history of how individual words have been used.
  • Project MUSE
    Collection of close to 250 full-text journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
  • World Biographical Information Services
    Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
  • WorldCat
    Over 35 million records of any type of material owned by libraries throughout the United States and several other countries.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Nicole Campbell
Contact Info
Interim Library Director
Phone: 360-546-9687
Send Email
 

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip