This is the "Home" page of the "POLS 206: State and Local Government (Fall 2011)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POLS 206: State and Local Government (Fall 2011)   Tags: classes, political science, public policy, research  

Resources to complete your assignment quickly!
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/pols206 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Newspapers & Magazines

  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    "Search the News" to find full text newspaper and magazine articles from local papers around the country. Use the drop down menu to change your search to TV transcripts or blogs.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search includes trade or popular magazine articles, labeled as "periodical." You can also limit your search to "magazines" if you choose.
  • New York Times
    Current articles from the New York Times website.
  • Washington Post
    Current articles from Washington, DC's Washington Post newspaper.
  • The Columbian
    Current issues from Vancouver, Washington's local newspaper.
  • The Oregonian
    Current issues from Portland, Oregon's local newspaper.

Agencies and Non-Profits

Policy Background Information Sources

  • Governing.com
    Use their "News & Topics" drop-down menu to locate recent news by topic. These stories can sources to discover specific state or local government policies in place across the nation.
  • Public Agenda Online
    Visit the "Issue Guides" to understand key perspectives on broad policy areas and get basic factual data. This is a good source to understand the big picture of something like "education policy," which you can then use to narrow to a particular policy.
  • CQ Researcher
    Collection of reports that provide in-depth, non-biased coverage of public policy issues, including topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
  • Sage eReference
    Collection of online encyclopedias and reference books covering a variety of social history, which can help you understand why policies exist and what they are intended to resolve.

Academic Journal Sources

  • Academic Search Complete
    This database lists and links to articles in many topics, including public policies in a variety of areas like crime, education, and the environment.
  • JSTOR
    Provides access to articles published more than 2 years ago in over 100 scholarly journals.
  • Project MUSE
    Collection of close to 250 full-text journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more.
  • PAIS
    Index to books, articles, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters and statistical directories about public affairs. Coverage starts in 1972.

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Nicholas Schiller
Contact Info
Systems & Instruction Librarian
360-546-9171
Send Email
 

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip