This is the "Home" page of the "Finding Things in the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Things in the Library  

Tips for how to find things in our Library.
Last Updated: Dec 28, 2010 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/finding-things-in-library Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

In our Library, most materials (books, media, etc.) are organized using the Library of Congress (LC) Subject Classification system.  If you are not familiar with the LC Classification system, more information is below.  Additionally, materials are arranged by type.  For example, journals are shelved together, separate from the book collection and so on.

The following is a list of the various collections in the library and where they are located:

CollectionLocation
Current Journals
The most recent issue of selected journals, arranged by title.
The Reading Room (in the front of the Library)
Journals
Arranged by title
Near the Reference Collection.
Books
Arranged by LC Classification (see below)
Books with a call number between A-HM are shelved in the Reading Room.  HN-Z are in the main part of the Library.
Reference Collection
Arranged by LC Classification (see below)
Located next to the Reference Desk.
Media (DVDs, VHS)
Arranged by LC Classification (see below)
Located on shelves near the photocopy room.
Juvenile Collection
Arranged by LC Classification (see below)
Located in the group study room near the Media Collection and photocopy room.
Reserves  Located at the Circulation Desk.
Newspapers
(Most recent 30 days of selected titles) 
Located in the Reading Room.
 

LC Subject Headings

The Library of Congress Classification System (LC) is the method used at WSU for classifying and organizing library materials. It is used to give each item a call number. Materials are divided into various subjects, each having a specific letter code. For example, materials dealing with law are classified under K and materials about philosophy are under B. Items are then arranged alphabetically according to these subject heading locations.

If you know the subject heading location (or the call number) for the subject you are interested in, you can then browse that area of the shelves for related materials.

Below is a list of the subject headings and their locations.

Letter Subject Heading
A Encyclopedias, Almanacs
B Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
C Archaeology, Genealogy, Biography
D History: General & Old World
E History: America
F History: Americas
G Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
H Social Sciences
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Fine Arts
P Language and Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture, Conservation
T Technology
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Bibliography, Library Science

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Desk
Contact Info
360-546-9686
library@vancouver.wsu.edu
Send Email
 

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip