This is the "Home" page of the "Company/Industry/Market Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company/Industry/Market Research  

Resources for researching companies, industries and marketing.
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2010 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/company Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

Reference USA
Reference USA (On Campus Only) is a business directory of U.S. companies that is searchable by company name, ticker symbol, type of business, geography or company size.

Lexis-Nexi Academic
Business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings. Sources include Accountancy Age, Consumer Electronics, IPO Reporter, Mergers and Acquisitions Reports, Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions, Hoover's Company Reports, Disclosure Reports, international company and stock reports, and more.

Business Source Complete
Index to over 8500 business-related journals and includes Market Research Reports, Industry Reports, Company Profiles, SWOT analysis.

Global Market Information Database
WSU students, staff and faculty only. Authentication is required. Collection of international statistics, market reports, country profiles and other information concerning industry, consumers and countries. Includes industry reports and statistics

Jstor
Provides access to articles published more than 2 years ago in over 100 scholarly journals.

IBISWorld
Collection of Industry Market Research Reports, analyzing more than 97% of the US economy. Over 700 reports that provide information and analysis of industries.

 

Other Online Resourses

American marketplace : demographics and spending patterns
Available through links in Griffin and LexisNexis Academic (under Sources). The American Marketplace provides in-depth marketing analysis, based upon the latest data collected mainly from the federal government:the Census Bureau, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the National Center for Education Statistics, and the National Center for Health Statistics. These are divided into eight sections: Education, Health,Income, Labor Force, Living Arrangements, Population, Spending, and Wealth.

www.bea.gov
The Bureau of Economic Analysis prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy.

IRIN - Annual Report Resource Center
The Investor Relations Information Network (IRIN) provides a single point of reference for accessing electronic annual reports.

The IndustryLink
A directory of links to industry websites.

Business.Gov
Business.gov, the official business link to the U.S. Government, is managed by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) in a partnership with 21 other federal agencies. This partnership, known as Business Gateway, is a Presidential E-government initiative that provides a single access point to government services and information to help the nation's businesses with their operations.

Fortune 500

caseplace.org
CasePlace.org is a free, practical on-line resource for up-to-date case studies, syllabi, and innovative teaching materials on business and sustainability - from corporate governance to sustainable development.

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of marketing [electronic resource]

Intute
Intute: Business and Management provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorized by subject specialists based at UK universities. We aim to match resources to the business curriculum and the needs of researchers. Our target audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education.

Liber8
An economic information portal; regional, national and international.

Statemaster.com
A unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. Information from various primary sources such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics.

Trade Stats Express

Export.gov

State and County QuickFacts
from the U.S Census Bureau

Company Statistics: Profiling U.S. Businesses
A segment of the U.S. Census.

 

Reference Books/Print Resources

Rand McNally ... commercial atlas & marketing guide
G1019 .R3 2007
WSU Vancouver Reference (Atlas stand)

Business Statistics of the United States: patterns of economic change
HC 101 A13122 2007 Vancouver Reference

Household Spending
Who spends how much on what. WSU Vancouver Reference HC 110 C6 A666 2004

Market share reporter
HF4510 .M35 WSU Vancouver Reference & WSU Vancouver. Two most recent editions in Reference. Presents market share data on over four thousand companies, and 2,500 products, facilities, and brands.

D & B business rankings
HD69.S5 D85x WSU Vancouver Reference. Latest edition only

D&B million dollar directory : America's leading public & private companies
HC102 .D8 WSU Vancouver Reference.

Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives.
HG4057 .A4 WSU Vancouver Reference. Most recent edition only.

RMA annual statement studies
HF5681.B2 R6 WSU Vancouver Reference Two most recent editions in Reference. Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.

Industry norms and key business ratios
HD47 .D8 WSU Vancouver Reference Two most recent editions in Reference. Selected key business ratios in 125 lines of business.

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Marianne Bash
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Phone: 360-546-9681
Send Email
 

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip