This is the "Home" page of the "Cited Reference Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cited Reference Searching  

Last Updated: Dec 13, 2011 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/citedreferencesearching Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

Web of Science - Cited Reference Search

   Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index. Dates of coverage: 1980 - Present

Google Scholar

  Advanced search for a wide-range of scholarly writings in the Google database.

 

What is Cited Reference Tracking?

Citation tracking or citation analysis tools in databases are used to find out how many times an author or article has been cited by others. This guide is designed to help you complete a cited reference search to locate articles by a specific author or to locate articles that cite a previously published article.

Helpful tips to keep in mind...

  • For best results, work from a complete and accurate list of an author's publications.  Note that authors do not always use the same names throughout their career.
  • Be careful when searching by author's name - the cited author format varies between databases
  • Information provided by the author may not be correct - look for strays and evaluate if it is the same publication
  • Cited reference searching techniques vary by database. Review the searching tips for Web of Science and Google Scholar for specific information.
  • In most cases, databases only track the citation information for the journals they index.  Use a combination of databases to get the most complete results. 
  • Remember that there will be duplication between Google Scholar and Web of Science.  Be sure to check for duplicate citations.

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Subject Librarian
Contact Info
Have questions? Contact your Subject Librarian for help. You can find the contact info for your subject librarian on the list by subject.

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Diller
Contact Info
Associate Library Director
Phone: 360-546-9179
Send Email
 

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip