We're Here to Help
Research material can be found in lots of ways, depending on your information need. Here are some suggestions to get you started. All databases and catalogs can be accessed through the Library's homepage.
If you need any help or advice on your research, feel free to contact your subject librarian. She is happy to meet with you about your assignment. If she is unavailable or if you just need some quick help, you can contact the reference desk.
Topic Selection
Choosing an interesting topic is your first challenge. Here are some tips:
- Choose a topic that you are interested in! It'll make the process more relevant if you care about your topic.
- Narrow your topic to something manageable.
- If your topic is too broad, you will find too much information and not be able to focus.
- Background reading can help you choose and focus your topic.
- Think of the who, what, when, where and why questions:
- WHY did you choose the topic? What interests you about it? Do you have an opinion about the issues involved?
- WHO are the information providers on this topic? Who might publish information about it? Who is affected by the topic? Do you know of organizations or institutions affiliated with the topic?
- WHAT are the major questions for this topic? Is there a debate about the topic? Are there a range of issues and viewpoints to consider?
- WHERE is your topic important: at the local, national or international level? Are there specific places affected by the topic?
- WHEN is/was your topic important? Is it a current event or an historical issue? Do you want to compare your topic by time periods?
Resources for Topic Formulation and More:
- General Sources
- Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation: A Handbook for Students and Faculty (available through Griffin and Summit).
- Teachers doing research : an introductory guidebook / R. Murray Thomas (available through Griffin or Summit)
- Writing literature reviews : a guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences / Jose L. Galvan (available through Griffin or Summit)
- Writing the doctoral dissertation: A systematic approach / Gordon B. Davis and Clyde A. Parker (available through Griffin or Summit
- Education News / Hot Topics
- Review of Educational Research (available through WSU Vancouver subscribed databases)
- Review of Educational Research (available through WSU Vancouver subscribed databases)
- Hot Topics in Education: http://education-portal.com/article_directory/Hot_Topics_in_Education.html
Basic Search Strategies
Take a brief tutorial on database and web searching:
http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/boolean-logic
Some Additional Tips:
Search primary and subject specific databases in your discipline
Be sure you are searching effectively
Look for the same articles and/or authors coming up repeatedly
Examine bibliographies
Explore citation searching
Look at review articles/Reviews of the topic
Examine dissertations
Search Google Scholar
Find proceedings of conferences
Search for government documents in Griffin
Your Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Off Campus Database Access
To access the library’s databases from off campus, you will be asked to authenticate after you choose a database. You will be prompted to enter your network ID and password. (This is the same user-name and password used in MyWSU.)
If you are having difficulty authenticating, try a different database. If the system still does not allow you in, give us a call.
Research Timeline
A final word: Allow
plenty of time for your project. Research and writing are circular
processes that require revising and editing. Use this handy timeline
generator from Tufts University to plan accordingly:



Loading...
