This is the "Reference Sources" page of the "GenEd 110: World Civilizations (Fall 2011)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GenEd 110: World Civilizations (Fall 2011)   Tags: history  

A short guide to starting research for GenEd 110
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/GenEd110-f11 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Reference Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Books

Reference Books - online or in print - provide critical information for students beginning research in a new areas. In the very best encyclopedias, you will get a concise summary of a topic that touches on all the major historical arguments. They can shape your research direction and highlight important sub-topics to investigate. They can help you narrow a topic from something that is too big (Indians of North America) to something more focused and precise (Tribal soverignty and fishing rights).

Read encyclopedia articles for these key reasons:

  • Get an better understanding of your broad topic.
  • Use your new knowledge and the article to write down potential search terms (key people, places, ideas, institutions, etc.)
  • Learn how you might narrow your broad topic to something more focused and workable for a semeser-long research project.
  • Find citations to well regarded books on your topic (these are listed at the end of the articles).

Recommended Reference Books

  • Oxford Reference Collection
    Use to search:
    Dictionary of World History
    Dictionary of Contemporary World History
    Dynasties of the World
    Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
    Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
    Oxford Dictionary of the Byzantium
    ...and more...
  • Sage eReference
    Use to search:
    Encyclopedia of African American Society
    Encyclopedia of American Urban History
    Encyclopedia of Black Studies
    Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
    Encyclopedia of Women in the American West
    ...and more...
  • WSUV Reference Collection - African Titles
    Encyclopedia of African History and Culture ~ DT3 .P27 2005
  • WSUV Reference Collection - American Titles
    American Immigrant Culture ~ E184 .A1 A63448 1997
    Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism ~ E184 .A1 E58 1994
    Handbook of North American Indians ~ E77 .H25
    Oxford Companion to United States History ~ E174 .o94 2001
  • WSUV Reference Collection - Asian Titles
    Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan ~ DS805 .C36 1993
    Modern China ~ DS755.2 .M63 1998
  • WSUV Reference Collection - European Titles
    Europe: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World: 1450-1789 ~ D209 .E97 2004
    The Middle Ages ~ D114 .M54 1996
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation ~ BR302.8 .O93 1996
  • WSUV Reference Collection - Latin American Titles
    Latin American History and Culture ~ F1406 .E53 2008
  • WSUV Reference Collection - Middle Eastern Titles
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World ~ DS35.53 .O96 2009
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World ~ DS35.53 .O95 2001

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Nicholas Schiller
Contact Info
Systems & Instruction Librarian
360-546-9171
Send Email
 

Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip