This is the "Home" page of the "ENTRP 492 SPR 2012" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENTRP 492 SPR 2012  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/ENTRP492 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

Business Source Complete is an index to over 8500 business-related journals, country reports, industry reports and company profiles. Coverage includes marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

- search for journal articles on a subject eg. "how to build trust" or "earning trust" in the basic search screen. Many, but not all, articles are fulltext.

- search for Industry Profiles (via link on right side in blue box.) e.g Footwear

- search for Market Research Reports (via link on right side in blue box.) e.g. Foodservice, or Leisure. Try browsing under the Subject link to find your industry.

- search for Company Profiles (via the link on right side in blue box.) e.g Nike, Inc. You can open the whole report of just click on the section for SWOT, Top Competitors, etc.

IBISWorld is a collection of Industry Market Research Reports, analyzing more than 97% of the US economy. Over 700 reports that provide information and analysis of industries.

- on the opening screen scroll down and browse all the US Industry Report titles; or, use the search box (in the drop-down box change All Databases to Industry Market Research then type in your topic.) e.g. Shoe Stores. You can read the full 34 page report or jump to a particular section, such as:

Reference USA is a business directory of U.S. companies that is searchable by company name, ticker symbol, type of business, geography or company size. This database is only available on campus.

- This databse is good for seeing what companies exist in local areas, and you can find similar companies by doing a Competitors Report or a Radius seach. e.g When the Shoe Fits.

Academic Lexis-Nexis is a complex database that contains company reports and fulltext articles from Trade Press magazines, Journals, Newspapers, etc. The Oregonian and Columbian are available in this database.

- on the opening search screen you can search for an individual company to see 10k filings, etc.

- click on the Power Search link (on left side of opening screen) to search for a topic, company, industry etc. in a group of publications, e.g Trade Industry News. You can limit your search to date, geography, etc.

ProQuest Newspaper Library

This database is an index of regional and national newspapers; it includes The Columbian.

SRDS Media Solutions (this works best using IE as your web browser)

This database has information about advertising and rates in all types of media sources. It includes the Consumer Media Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, and TV and Cable Source, and Local Market Audience Analyst - the LMA is very detailed and divided into four sections where you can refine your data by state/county/ etc. and download/print reports. Each segment has a short informative video on how to use this resource.

eStatement Studies

eStatement Studies provides composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions’ borrowers and prospects. These financial statements come directly to Risk Management Association (RMA) from member institutions, which get their data straight from their customers

     

    Other Resources

    Financial Ratios Calculator - Financial ratios caluculator from the University of Washington's Foster Business Library. Plug in various financials and the calculator will figure the ratios. Included is sample data for Nike.

    http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/ratios/

    Local/Northwest/Small Business - Databases, plus other online and print resources for researching business-related information in the Pacific Northwest

    http://libguides.vancouver.wsu.edu/local

    http://www.sba.gov/  This is the United States Small Business Association where you can search for local resources via zip code.

       

      Reference Books

      Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns, vol. 2

      HF 5837.E53 With profiles of 474 advertising campaigns that appeared between the late 1990s and 2005, this volume is a companion to the 1999 work of the same name. Campaigns were selected based on their conceptual value or innovation, company or brand importance, and effectiveness in selling the advertised product or service. Campaign profiles generally range from three to four pages and include "Overview," "Historical Context," "Target Market," "Competition," "Marketing Strategy," and "Outcome."

      Portland Business Journal 2012 Book of Lists (The Portland Business Journal is also available online: http://www.bizjournals.com/portland/ However, "premium" content, i.e. the Book of Lists, requires an online subscription)

      - ask at the Ref. Desk.

      Vancouver Business Journal Book of Lists, 2011

      - ask at the Ref. Desk

      RMA annual statement studies NOW ONLINE!! SEE eStatment Studies in the list of databases to the left.

       HF5681.B2 R6  2011/2012  Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by NAICS code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.

      This website has some helpful information on this product:

      http://ebiz.rmahq.org/eBusPPRO/Default.aspx?TabId=55&ProductId=1666667

       

      Liaison Librarian

      Profile Image
      Marianne Bash

      Contact Info:
      Reference Librarian
      Phone: 360-546-9681
      Send Email

        Contact us: Library 360-546-9680 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies

        Washington State University Vancouver, 14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue, Vancouver, WA, 98686-9600 USA

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip